Quiet spaces

Sometimes it’s challenging to find time for yourself when you’re trying to work full-time, raise a healthy toddler, spend time with your husband and occasionally friends, and also balance a weekly dance class and fundraising efforts. I’ve come to value the quiet spaces when I find them. Sometimes it’s a local Japanese garden modeled after a samurai estate, complete with tranquil ponds, bamboo, quiet waterfalls, and places of silence. Other days I find a different spot to be more appropriate.

I recently visited a local rock and crystal shop in a picturesque downtown area. There were tumbled and raw stones, jewelry, angels, and a host of other thoughtful items. When I first entered, it was a bit emotionally overwhelming. Friends of mine as well as some career assessments have identified me as an empath, and the rush of competing energies from so many different items was a bit overpowering at first. Once I got used to it, however, it was lovely. I started picking up stones and crystals to see which carried the most resonance for me. I realized it’s something I’ve been doing for a while with jewelry, especially jewelry made with natural components such as bone. I selected crystal quartz for my work space, pyrite and peacock ore for home, and calcite which I intended to give to others, but ended up keeping for myself. I’ve placed the stones around the house and on my desk at work, and the locations seem right.

Where do you go when you need a quiet space?

About bethmf

Writer, dancer, literature buff, lover of music, discoverer of new places, devotee of joy and random connections. Grateful to be here and trying to earn a space.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

