Things to bring new moms

 

           Last May, I became a mother to a 6lb, 8.9 oz little wonder. The weeks that followed were filled with a steady stream of visitors–family, friends, and my doula. I was definitely challenged as I tried to take care of my daughter, breastfeed and pump, catch sleep whenever possible, and remember to eat/hydrate adequately. In the year since that time, with the support of my husband, family, and a local in home daycare, my daughter has grown into a healthy, exuberant little lady.

Image 

       In the past few months, a number of friends and a family member have given birth. I started bringing bags of helpful items to the new moms during visits–things which could meet essential needs in a pinch.

Here’s what I included in a typical bag. Most items can be found at Trader Joe’s. Feel free to add/subtract as you like!

Things to bring new moms:

  • A non perishable meal, such as a bag of pasta (gluten free or regular, depending on the mom) and sauce. Dinner in a pinch for Mom and Dad!
  • A bottle of lotion. My hands were constantly cracked from washing bottles, washing my hands after diaper changes, and the like. New moms can all benefit from lotion.
  • Jojoba oil. It can be used to clean pores, moisturize, refresh tired skin, etc. I started using it in the first six months after my daughter was born and have been addicted ever since.
  • Non-perishable snacks, such as kale chips, on the go size bags of nuts and dried fruits, and the like. I would sometimes wake up starving in the middle of the night because I hadn’t eaten enough during the day, or I hadn’t snagged something during my daughter’s last feeding. A small boost can help you remain energized during the day or help with a rumbling belly at an odd hour.
  • Lip gloss. New moms may not have time for a full face, but a little gloss, especially a more natural/lightweight one, can feel amazing.

 

Other thoughts: Bring a meal. We benefited from a number of dinners, especially those which included enough for multiple meals. My godmother brought lunch on a few occasions, as did my mother-in-law. Bringing breakfast can also be a huge help for a new mom, as she’ll be set with a good foundation for her morning. Whatever you do, please know it will be gratefully appreciated.

About bethmf

Writer, dancer, literature buff, lover of music, discoverer of new places, devotee of joy and random connections. Grateful to be here and trying to earn a space.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

