On beauty and climbing the hill

There’s this amazing park in the southern portion of San Jose called Almaden Meadows. It’s a hidden gem, really–a verdant hill, lovely yellow flowers, trees, etc. I used to work in the area and had been meaning to climb the hill for a good 11 years. It’s almost silly, in fact, as I only live about 20 minutes from the park.

On Valentine’s Day, I drove my husband to the park so we could climb the hill. We huffed and puffed a bit, but the view was totally worth it. We could see all the way out to the 87 freeway, off to the other hillsides, and down to Camden Avenue. It was so satisfying to finally have that moment, gazing out into the distance.

It made me consider how much we take for granted.  Here I’ve lamented the fact that San Jose often lacks the variety of cultural options afforded to San Francisco, and yet sometimes my city just amazes me. I am truly lucky to live here.

About bethmf

Writer, dancer, literature buff, lover of music, discoverer of new places, devotee of joy and random connections. Grateful to be here and trying to earn a space.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

