Carnival of Rhythms dance show

Even though I’m coming off of a rough week, I remain grateful that I was able to participate in last week’s Carnival of Rhythms dance show. My ankle was still lightly sprained, so I arrived prepared with ibuprofen, a brace, warming wraps, pain relief lotion, etc. I didn’t feel much during the tech rehearsal or even the first show, and I was even able to share the warming wraps with another dancer:) (She later gave the warming wrap sheath back to me once her injury had stopped hurting, and by then mine was sore, so it was perfect timing:)

My parents attended the first show, and I met with them afterwards in the lobby. Their thoughts on my first, rather challenging African jazz number: “You never stopped moving.” This was also my inagaural performance for wearing a langolier (head mike) while performing, and I totally relished the experience. As for the second show, I made sure that my performance level was increased from the previous, and as such I felt that my participation in the African Jazz, Rent finale vocals piece, and Sing Sing Sing jazz piece all went swimmingly. I also enjoyed being of service to others–helping people with quick costume changes, keeping morale up even when we were all becoming fatigued and achy, and just spending time with such gifted, kind people.

I came out to meet with my husband after the second show and was pleased to know that he had enjoyed it as well. I am truly grateful to have such supportive people in my life:)

About bethmf

Writer, dancer, literature buff, lover of music, discoverer of new places, devotee of joy and random connections. Grateful to be here and trying to earn a space.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

