A New World of Dance

I love the world of dance in 2009. Dance music comes from Ipods fed through stereo systems, and studios keep in touch with dancers via Facebook and email. Performance photos may go online mere hours after an event and can be reposted throughout the web. All of this technology adds efficacy and somehow an even deeper sense of connection to the world of dance.

 I definitely feel a strong connection when I view class videos. I love that my classmates will take fpotage of our routines with their phones/cameras, email the pieces to us as .mov files or post them to youtube, and then all of us in class can use to refresh our memories. This also helps reduce the frustration if the  instructor doesn’t remember the combination he/she gave last week, because it has been captured on film. I think this also makes things more genuine and exciting–a show in the making is being captured! It also allows you to catch your mistakes beforehand (body mechanic issues, etc) and ameliorate them before the show (love it!)

Of course, I can’t help rewinding to the 80s and 90s when dance was done with cassettes and CDs. This was where my initial appreciation for dance was born. I remember having to submit my competition music on a cassette, and how judges would record their commentary for us in that fashion. If we didn’t remember our dances the following week, there were no videos–a nice teacher would review the material, and a commanding one would chew us out if we forgot. Still, the most crucial thing was that my little spark of an interest in dance was fanned into a flame of love for it, and I’ve never stopped loving dance, even during breaks from it.

About bethmf

Writer, dancer, literature buff, lover of music, discoverer of new places, devotee of joy and random connections. Grateful to be here and trying to earn a space.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

