Scoring Boxes

Yesterday, I set myself on a mission during my lunch hour: I was determined to find free boxes. (I don’t believe you should have to pay for moving boxes when most businesses tend to dispose of theirs after receiving shipments). I decided to check out a store devoted to storage needs and discovered that while they sold boxes, they failed provide any freebies.  (Go figure). An employee also insisted on pressing a box catalogue into my hands even as I protested that I was just seeking boxes for moving, not specialized needs. After that, I thought I would pop into a nearby clothing store, where a 20 something girl directed me to a closet stacked high with boxes and informed me that they would be taken out soon, so I needed to grab some now. It wasn’t that the girl was overly friendly or even concerned: she was simply willing to help, and I was grateful for it. I scored as many boxes as I could carry–in my case, 2 large and 2 small–and no one gave me a second look as I carried them out. The same day, we also received a shipment of office supplies at work, and I made off with the empties as well. I could easily have paid $1 a box somewhere else and ended up with identical packaging materials for my move. Instead, I was able to reuse that which would have been tossed anyway, and ended up scoring a good 9 boxes for free. I had the warm fuzzies all afternoon because of it, and even though my desk area resembled a cardboard jungle, it was cool.

About bethmf

Writer, dancer, literature buff, lover of music, discoverer of new places, devotee of joy and random connections. Grateful to be here and trying to earn a space.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

