The backyard of my childhood

   So I was wandering through Anthropologie today and found myself admiring their makeshift canvas tent. They’d spread a cream-colored piece of cloth above the bedding section, and underneath you could admire brightly colored fabrics and other pieces of decor. Not only was it vaguely reminiscent of a nomadic society (I couldn’t help but think of The Red Tent, sans redness), but it instantly transported me to my childhood, when I would take two metal chairs from our patio table and drape a towel between them. I’d spread another towel on the ground to sit on, then bring out something to drink–usually a glass of cold milk in a dark green 70s style glass. Afterwards, I’d sit in my “tent” in the sunshine, protected by my Cabbage Patch kids towel. Good times.

    As I wandered further across the store, I found some verbena soap…and again I was in my parents yard, walking across the grass to smell some flowers against the fence. It’s amazing how these familiar sights and aromas have the ability not only to remind us of childhood, but to evoke a sense of safety, comfort, and peace. I didn’t want to leave. Thanks, Anthropologie.

About bethmf

Writer, dancer, literature buff, lover of music, discoverer of new places, devotee of joy and random connections. Grateful to be here and trying to earn a space.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

